_5__1977Photo by Mario Schmitt

From left to right:

Nicolas Rausch – Guitars
Tobias Schuler – Drums
Nikita Kamprad – Vocals, Guitars
 Nicolas Ziska – Bass

Progressive, avant-garde black metal experimentalists DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT have never stopped smashing through the boundaries of the genre they’ve called home since forming in early 2009.

Nikita Kamprad founded DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT as an expression of both his love of black metal and the search for liberation through art, as evidenced by taking the idea of the moniker — which translates to ‘The Way of Freedom’ — to heart.

Twelve years on, Kamprad is taking advantage of the freedoms afforded to him as he strives to personify the band’s titular expression. Being joined by drummer Tobias Schuler, bassist Nicolas Ziska and guitarist Nicolas Rausch has made DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT more a unit than ever and allowed Kamprad to feel comfortable relinquishing his steely grip on the band’s creative reins during the writing process which began in late 2019 and was completed by September of 2020.

With the release of their fifth album Noktvrn the Germans are looking to expand the minds and perspectives of their ever-increasing fanbase, similar to how they pushed themselves in every element of the new album’s creation – 7 songs influenced by classical composer Frederic Chopin’s Nocturnes, a series of so called “night pieces”, and thus only created during the wee hours. Songs recorded together live in the studio and yet not lacking the tonal maturity of a studio album. Nastily atmospheric arrangements driven by blastbeats, enveloped in pulsing warm synths and penetrated by vocals charged with emotions. Past meeting future.

Former members
Sascha Rissling – Guitars (2012 – 2017)
Giuliano Barbieri – Bass (2012 – 2016)
Tobias Jaschinsky – Vocals (2009 – 2012)
Christian Bass – Drums (2010 – 2011)